Octavia A. Dobre

Professor and Research Chair

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

 

Biography

Research

Publications

Students

Teaching

Editorship

Conference Chairing

Other Activities

Awards

Resume

Links

Photo Gallery

 

POSTDOCTORAL FELLOWS & RESEARCH ASSOCIATES:

Dr. Animesh Yadav  animeshy@mun.ca
Research Area: Full Duplex for 5G
2016-present

Dr. Ahmed Mohamed Ali Ibrahim  amaibrahim@mun.ca
Research Area: D2D Communications for 5G
2016-present

Dr. Stanley Johnson  johnsons@mun.ca
Research Area: High Speed Optical Communications for OTN: Theoretical Developments and Implementation
2016-present

Dr. Abdelkerim Amari  aamari@mun.ca
Research Area: DSP Compensation of Fiber Non-linearity
2016-present

Dr. Yahia Eldemerdash  yahia.eldemerdash@mun.ca
Research Area: Interoperability in EW Software Platforms
2015-present

Dr. Oluyemi Omomukuyo  ooluyemi@mun.ca
Research Area: Optical OFDM for OTN
2014-2017

Dr. Deyuan Chang  dchang@mun.ca
Research Area: Faster than Nyquist Communications for OTN
2014-2016

Dr. Chinmoy Kundu  ckundu@mun.ca
Research Area: Physical Layer Security
2015-2016

Dr. Ali Afana  aliafana1@gmail.com
Research Area: Spatial mMdulation & Cooperative Communications for Cognitive Radio Systems
2014-2015

Dr. Mohamed Marey  mfmmarey@mun.ca
Research Area: Blind Signal Identification
2009-2014

Dr. Osama Amin  osama.amin@kaust.edu.sa
Research Area: Resource Allocation in Cognitive Radio Systems
2013-2014

Dr. Ebrahim Karami  ekarami@mun.ca
Research Area: Detection of Standard Signals: Theoretical Developments and Implementation
2012-2013

Dr. Georgios Tsiropoulos  gitsirop@hotmail.com
Research Area: Cognitive Coexistence of Non-cooperative Heterogeneous Wireless Systems
2012-2013

GRADUATE AND UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS:
Graduate Students (Thesis-based Program):
Graduate Students (Project-based Program)
Undergraduate Students (Project-based Program)

Graduate Students (Thesis-based Program):

Ibrahim Alnahhal  ioalnahhal@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Spatial Modulation
Expected Graduation: 2020

Ming Zheng  mzeng@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Resource allocation in NOMA Networks
Expected Graduation: 2020

Muhammad Ahmad Raza  maraza@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Multiuser Access in Massive Machine-to-Machine Communications
Expected Graduation: 2021

Esraa Makled  eamakled@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: SWIPT for Underwater Communications
Expected Graduation: 2021

Ahmed A. A. Al-Habob  eamakled@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Enablimg Technologies for Emerging IoT Underwater Networks
Expected Graduation: 2021

Ashraf Fata  amsfata@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: D2D for Video Transmissions in 5G Networks
Expected Graduation: 2021

Ranning Wang  ranningw@mun.ca
Degree: Master's
Thesis Topic: Full Duplex Communications in Underwater Networks
Expected Graduation: 2018

Sunish Kumar  skos71@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Non-linearity Mitigation Techniques for OTN
Expected Graduation: 2018

Xiang Lin  xl7436@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Faster than Nyquist Communications for OTN
Expected Graduation: 2018

Mostafa Mohammadkarami  m.mohammadkarimi@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Signal Identification and Detection for IoT Networks
Graduated: 2017

Somayeh Kafaie  sk2842@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Network Coding
Graduated: 2017

Yi Zhang  yz7384@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Compressed Sensing for Channel Estimation in Underwater Communications
Graduated: 2017

Ali Esswie  aaaaesswie@mun.ca
Degree: Master's
Thesis Topic: Interference Alignment
Graduated: 2017

Yahia A. Eldemerdash  yahia.eldemerdash@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Signal Identification and Spectrum Awareness in MIMO Scenarios
Graduated: 2015

Ebrahim Bedeer  e.bedeer@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Respource Allocation in OFDM-based Cognitive Radio Systems
Graduated: 2014

Hala Mostafa  h.mostafa@mun.ca
Degree: Ph.D.
Thesis Topic: Full-rate Transmission Techniques for Cooperative Communications
Graduated: 2014

Peter Vandrish  peter.vandrish@gmail.com
Degree: Master of Engineering (M. Eng.)
Thesis Topic: Navigation System for Autonomous Underwater Vehicles
Graduated: 2011

Talha Rasheed  talha.rasheed@mun.ca
Degree: M. Eng.
Thesis Topic: Cooperative Wireless Networks
Graduated: 2011

Ala'a Al-Habashna  alaa@mun.ca
Degree: M. Eng.
Thesis Topic: Physical Layer Design for Cognitive Radio Systems
Graduated: 2011

Rabie Almatarneh  rabie@engr.mun.ca
Degree: M. Eng.
Thesis Topic: Resource Management in Emerging Wireless Networks
Graduated: 2011

Qiyun Zhang  qiyun.zhang@mun.ca
Degree: M. Eng.
Thesis Topic: Blind Signal Identification in Intelligent Radio Systems
Graduated: 2011

Anjana Punchihewa  anjana@ece.ubc.ca
Degree: M. Eng.
Thesis Topic: Application of Cyclostationarity to OFDM Signal Identification
Graduated: 2007

Fahed Hameed  fahedhameed@yahoo.com
Degree: M. Eng.
Thesis Topic: Bounds of Performance for Blind Parameter Estimation and Modulation Classification
Graduated: 2006

Back to top

Graduate Students (Project-based Program):

Yunxiang Xue  claudexue16@gmail.com
Degree: Master of Applied Science in Computer Engineering (MASCE)
Project Topic: Spectrum Sensing in Cognitive Radio Networks: From Theory to Practice
Graduated: 2013

Na Luo  nl5268@mun.ca
Degree: MASCE
Project Topic: Statistical Signal Processing for Communications
Graduated: 2013

Yichen Wang  wyc2000_0@hotmail.com
Degree: MASCE
Project Topic: Fourth-order Statistics for Signal Identification
Graduated: 2012

Jiudong Bian  jiudong@engr.mun.ca
Degree: MASCE
Project Topic: Transmission Strategies in Adaptive OFDM Systems
Graduated: 2007

Shiliang Lu  shiliang@engr.mun.ca
Degree: MASCE
Project Topic: Blind Modulation Recognition for Adaptive OFDM Systems
Graduated: 2006

Xiaobin Yu  xiaobin@engr.mun.ca
Degree: MASCE
Project Topic: Adaptive Loading for OFDM-MIMO Systems
Graduated: 2006

Back to top

Undergraduate Students (Project-based Program):

Andrew Giebfried,Chris Newport, and Mark Pham
Degree: Bachelor in Engineering
Project Topic: Signal Recognition in MIMO Wireless Communication Systems
Expected Graduation: 2012

Amy Pike, Liz Palmera-Nunez, Adam Wong, and James Pikul
Degree: Bachelor in Engineering
Project Topic: MIMO Wireless Communication Systems
Graduated: 2010

Pu Zhang, Bing Han, Jian Ma, and Mia Gu
Degree: Bachelor in Engineering
Project Topic: Cooperative Communication for Wireless Indoor Systems
Graduated: 2010

Adam Noel  adamjgnoel@gmail.com
Degree: Bachelor in Engineering
Project Topic: Physical Layer Issues in Emerging Cognitive Radio Systems
Graduated: 2009

David Winsor  david.winsor@gmail.com
Degree: Bachelor in Engineering
Project Topic: Signal Cyclostationarity for Biomedical Applications
Graduated: 2009

Jeremy Tuck  jeremy.kieth.tuck@gmail.com
Degree: Bachelor in Engineering
Project Topic: On the Analysis and Synthesis of Sound Waves
Graduated: 2008

Billy Barron  billy@engr.mun.ca
Degree: Bachelor in Engineering
Project Topic: Autonomous Radios for Wireless Communications
Graduated: 2006

Uzma Khan  uzma@engr.mun.ca
Degree: Bachelor in Engineering
Project Topic: On Algorithm Design for Blind Modulation Recognition
Graduated: 2006

Jeff Wells  jeff@engr.mun.ca
Degree: Bachelor in Engineering
Project Topic: Adaptive Array Algorithms for Tracking Time Varying Channels
Graduated: 2006

Back to top

Home IEEE COMML ComSoc WICE Contact

  

Last Update: November, 2017