Current Students

Current PhD students

 

Ali Hassan, Alyami

 

Research Topic: “Marine ecological risk assessment due to ocean outfalls”

 

 

Alsakit, Mohammed

ma7326@mun.ca

Study of using Biochar and Metal-Organic Frameworks for the Separation of Oil-Water Mixture…[more]

 

 

 

 

 

Cao, Yiqi
EN2103
yiqic@mun.ca
Gene engineering for marine oil spill cleanup…[more]

 

 

 

 

Dong, Guihua

EN2103

gdong@mun.ca

Advanced oxidation processes (AOPs) to remove emerging contaminants in surface water, and exploring the transformation and fate of the emerging contaminants [more]

 

 

Hoda,Tafvizi

EN1035C
ht4147@mun.ca

Methods of removal of Natural Organic Matter (NOM) from water for decreasing disinfection by-products…[more]

 

 

 

Kang, Qiao

qiaok@mun.ca

 

Study of simulating the fate and transport processes of various emerging pollutants in the aqueous environment…[more]

 

 

 

Li, Xixi

xixi.li@mun.ca

 

Xixi Li is working on the study of the molecular modification of environmentally friendly fragrances and their potential risk regulation…[more]

 

 

Lin, Weiyun

weiyun.lin@mun.ca
EN2041

Weiyun Lin works on the removal of impurities from wastewater using a micellar-enhanced ultrafiltration technique…[more]

 

 

 

Minhdung, Tran

Ph.D. in Civil (Environmental) Engineering, Memorial University

Research Topic: “Petroleum contaminated site remediation and system optimization”

 

 

Shahwan, Moein
moeinmun@yahoo.com
Integrated water resource management…[more]

 

 

 

 

Song, Xing
EN4041
xs3184@mun.ca

His research focuses on the identification and characterization of spilled oil treated by chemical and bio-dispersant in marine environment….[more]

 

 

Yang, Min

myang18@mun.ca

Her current research is focusing on the advanced oil pollution control in northern coastal region…[more]

 

 

 

Ye, Xudong (Derek)

EN 2103

xy0616@mun.ca

Research on environmental decision making and planning models on wastewater treatment and offshore oil spill accidents…[more]

 

 

Zahra S, Rastghalam

Ph.D. in Geology (Soil Pollution and Chemistry), Memorial University

Research Topic: “Nanoparticle transport in vadose zone and groundwater”

 

 

Current Master Student

 

Campbell, Karresa

kkcampbell@mun.ca

 

Research Topic: Risk Assessment of micro plastics in coastal and marine environments…[more]

 

 

Cantwell, Cuirin

EN 2077C

cdcantwell@mun.ca

As a graduate in Civil Engineering & Society from McMaster University (2018), Cuirin has chosen to further pursue his studies of Civil Engineering at Memorial University in the sub-discipline of Environmental Engineering. His current area of focus is in soil remediation of media contaminated with Brominated Flame Retardants and their interactions with dehalogenation agents as well as bio-surfactant aided soil washing techniques. [more]

 

 

Hu, Jiheng

jihengh@mun.ca

Research Topic: Development of biosurfactant-based surfactant and associated technologies [more]

 

 

 

 

MacPherson, Kate

kmmacpherson@mun.ca

 

Kate Macpherson completed her Bachelor’s of Science at the Dalhousie Agricultural Campus in Truro, Nova Scotia in the field of Environmental Science. She is currently pursuing her Master of Environmental Science under supervisor Dr. Bing Chen.

 

 

Matchinski, Ethan

ejmatchinski@mun.ca

Ethan Matchinski is currently a candidate for a Masters of Environmental Science, with a background of a Bachelors in Science in Geology. Current research topics focus upon oil spill response methodology in a macro scale lens. His previous work experience in hydrologic engineering, specifically with water transmission and wastewater systems. Will be looking to continue engineering research and studies at Memorial University…[more]

 

Natalia Vivas Heredia

 M.Eng, Civil Engineering, Memorial University

Research project: “Reuse of plastic wastes in Newfoundland and Labrador”

 

 

Sankar, Diana

 M.Eng, Civil Engineering, Memorial University

 

 

 

Tao, Yunwen

EN2041
yt8268@mun.ca

 

Michelle enhanced ultrafiltration for wastewater treatment…[more]

 

Vaziri, Elaheh

evaziri@mun.ca

Development of advanced adsorbent technology to decant oily wastewater…[more]

 

 

Yu, Miao

EN2077A
my7467@mun.ca

Research on biosurfactants and bioherders...[more]